Friday, March 9, 2018

Book Trailer Friday [@tomi_adeyemi @fiercereads]

The trailer this week is for Tomi Adeyemi's Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha #1) because it is a book I very much want to read. It came out this past Tuesday, the 6th and here is the trailer:

about Children of Blood and Bone:

Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy.

March 06, 2018 // Henry Holt Books for Young Readers // 525 pages // Goodreads // Book Depository // Amazon

Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Waiting On Wednesday [@somiayadaud @Flatironbooks]

Waiting On Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine

My pick for this week:

MIRAGE (#1) by Somaiya Daud

In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire, eighteen-year-old Amani is a dreamer. She dreams of what life was like before the occupation; she dreams of writing poetry like the old-world poems she adores; she dreams of receiving a sign from Dihya that one day, she, too, will have adventure, and travel beyond her isolated moon.

But when adventure comes for Amani, it is not what she expects: she is kidnapped by the regime and taken in secret to the royal palace, where she discovers that she is nearly identical to the cruel half-Vathek Princess Maram. The princess is so hated by her conquered people that she requires a body double, someone to appear in public as Maram, ready to die in her place.

As Amani is forced into her new role, she can’t help but enjoy the palace’s beauty—and her time with the princess’ fiancé, Idris. But the glitter of the royal court belies a world of violence and fear. If Amani ever wishes to see her family again, she must play the princess to perfection...because one wrong move could lead to her death.

published August 26th by Flatiron Books

add to your Goodreads shelf // pre-order from Book Depo // or Amazon


It's in space and there are royals which has so many possibilities right there. Then our main character is a girl who doesn't fit in and is the evil princess' doppelganger? This book sounds like so much fun (and drama and emotion and awesomeness).!

Oh, but I want to read this one and discover Dihya and about the Vathek empire and meet Amani and find out what happens to her.

You can preview  Mirage on Entertainment Weekly's website, here.

That's my pick for this week, what's yours? Tell me in the comments and/or link me to your own post!

Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Top Ten Tuesday: Book Quotes

This week's Ten:
10 13 Favorite Book Quotes

This list could definitely have been three (or more) times as long, so I selected quotes that were particularly memorable for me and/or that expressed something in a new/eloquent way and/or just had beautiful, evocative language. 

". . . to a cul-de-sac where rainbows and unicorns came to die."
Made You Up by Francesca Zappia (pg 350)

"Growing apart doesn't change the fact that for a long time we grew sie by side, our roots will always be tangled. I'm glad for that." 
Matched by Ally Condie

"Ruby's stories didn't have morals. They meant one thing in the light and one thing in the dark and another thing entirely when she was wearing sunglasses." 
Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Sima

"I shake my head, watching snow tumble and swirl from an all-white sky. The world seems so clean if you only look up." 
Wither by Lauren DeStefano

"We notice the silence of men. We depend upon the silence of women." 
Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

"Do you know how magic works? . . . Hope. That's how. Without hope, there would be no magic." 
The Girl Who Saved Christmas by Matt Haig (pg 11)

"I'm not depressed. I'm unhappy. It's different. . . Depression is irrational. I'm unhappy because my life sucks. That's rational." 
Placebo Junkies by J.C. Carleson (pg 185)

“It’s easy to talk about things we hate, but sometimes it’s hard to explain exactly why we like something."
Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

"The room had never felt this empty. Like I was trapped between the space of an echo and a scream."
The Star Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi (pg 14) 

"'What color is hope?'
'I hope in all the colors,' Dovie said. 'That's what makes it hope.'"
Learning to Swear in America by Katie Kennedy

"You go to a Quaker school. Isn't it against your religion to be a jackass?
Where You'll Find Me by Natasha Friend

"...She sits at the piano; it's a concert Steinway as ebony as the night, and just as long."
Unwind by Neal Shusterman

"Her voice was soft, but not like a pillow. Like a pile of fine metal shavings or powdered glass." 
The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner (pg 326)

Please leave a comment and let me know your favorite quotes from books!

Monday, March 5, 2018

Internet Famous ~ Danika Stone (earc) review [@danika_stone @SwoonReads]

Internet Famous
Swoon Reads
June 06, 2017
312 pages
add to Goodreads/buy from Book Depository/or Amazon

High school senior and internet sensation Madison Nakama seems to have it all: a happy family, good grades, and a massive online following for her pop-culture blog. But when her mother suddenly abandons the family, Madi finds herself struggling to keep up with all of her commitments.

Fandom to the rescue! As her online fans band together to help, an online/offline flirtation sparks with Laurent, a French exchange student. Their internet romance—played out in the comments section of her MadLibs blog—attracts the attention of an internet troll who threatens the separation of Madi’s real and online personas. With her carefully constructed life unraveling, Madi must uncover the hacker’s identity before he can do any more damage, or risk losing the people she loves the most… Laurent included.

Internet Famous was one of those books where I had forgotten much of the premise before I started the book (that or it was from Swoon Reads so I didn't really read all of what it was about) so a lot of the story was a surprise for me. A very pleasant surprise.

This is absolutely a very sweet and cute romance, but the other parts of the story - and Madi's life - really take the story to the next level. The different dynamics at play in Madi's family were unexpected but something I was all to glad to see.

"Difficult sibling dynamics are rarely explored in teen films, and this was one of many happy surprises from this rewatch." (pg 253)

Switch up a few words in Madi's statement (films to books, rewatch to read) and you have my feelings about this novel. Madi and Sarah's relationship was not your typical, teenage sisters relationship and the responsibilities Madi had to shoulder put her in more of a parental role sometimes. I really appreciated that we not only got to see her struggle with all of that, but that it was addressed by the characters, as well. The girls' relationships with their mother and father could also be strained and tricky. These extra layers of stress made Madi, her life and her story fuller.

One of the problems Madi encounters did not garner as much sympathy from me as, maybe, it was supposed to . .. I felt bad for her but also did not think she was wrongly penalized.

Madi's blog, MadLibs was fun and something different for a character. I liked how, while it was her escape, it had also impacted her daily life - and then was impacted by it, too.

I began reading Internet Famous expecting a cute, fun, if somewhat fluffy romance. It was definitely cute and fun (and sweet and romantic and goofy) but it was not fluffy. There was an unexpected depth to the story and Madi's character that rally impressed me. I will be reading the author's previous novel All the Feels (which includes some of the same fictional fandom) and anything upcoming.

digital review copy received from the publisher, via NetGalley
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...